Photo edit of President Donald J. Trump and The Washington Post. Credit: Alexander J. Williams III/Pop Acta.
Photo edit of President Donald J. Trump and The Washington Post. Credit: Alexander J. Williams III/Pop Acta.

Key Swing-State Lawsuit Targets Trump’s 2024 Ballot Placement Over Jan. 6 Role and Constitutional Violation.

Lawsuit Against Trump’s 2024 Ballot Placement

  • A lawsuit was initiated by the Washington watchdog group, Citizens for Responsibility & Ethics in Washington (CREW), to prevent Donald Trump’s name from appearing on Colorado’s 2024 ballot. The basis is Trump’s purported role in the Jan. 6, 2021, Capitol riot.
  • The suit argues that Trump violated Section 3 of the 14th Amendment, known as the Disqualification Clause. This clause prohibits anyone who has sworn an oath to the U.S. Constitution, and later acted against it, from holding federal or state office.
  • Trump has countered this move as “election interference.”

Prominent Petitioners

  • Former Colorado House and Senate Majority leader, Norma Anderson, stressed her longstanding commitment to protecting constitutional freedoms as a reason for her involvement in the lawsuit.
  • Former Rep. Claudine Schneider emphasized her past experiences with upholding the principles of democracy and the importance of ethics.
  • Republican activist Krista Kafer highlighted her belief that Trump is ineligible for the 2024 run due to his alleged actions and misinformation campaigns related to the 2020 elections.

Trump’s Track Record and CREW’s Leadership

  • Donald Trump did not win Colorado in the 2016 and 2020 presidential races. The percentages were 48.1% to 43.3% (Clinton) in 2016, and 55.4% to 41.9% (Biden) in 2020.
  • CREW’s current President and CEO, Noah Bookbinder, was previously affiliated with the Homeland Security Advisory Council and the U.S. Senate Judiciary Committee.
  • Colorado, traditionally a swing state, has consistently voted for Democratic presidential candidates in the last three elections.
  • Barack Obama’s victories in Colorado in 2008 and 2012 marked a significant shift, making him only the third Democrat to win the state since the Eisenhower era.
  • The other two Democratic presidential winners in Colorado were Lyndon B. Johnson in 1964 and Bill Clinton in 1992.
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments